Sea Turtle Walk

Some content on this website is saved in an alternative format. To view these files, download the following free software or you can skip to the main content if you already have the appropriate readers.

  • Use Adobe Acrobat to read Portable Document Format (PDF) files: Download Adobe® Reader®
  • Microsoft Word file viewer and converter programs to enable those who do not have MS- Word or have another version of MS-Word to open and view MS-Word files: Download Word file Viewer
  • Microsoft offers Microsoft Excel file viewer and converter programs to enable those who do not have MS-Excel or have another version of MS-Excel to view MS-Excel files:Download Excel file viewer

Sebastian Inlet State Park

Join us for an educational sea turtle walk guided by a park ranger. These turtle walks offer you a possibility to witness a loggerhead sea turtle lay her eggs, cover and disguise her nest, crawl down the beach, and swim away in to the Atlantic Ocean. Turtle walks are five nights a week, Friday through Tuesday, during the months of June and July. The program starts at 9 PM and may last until 1 AM. Unlike any other permitted sea turtle walk offered in Florida you may walk up to three miles while searching for a sea turtle. Please meet at the Sebastian Fishing Museum at Sebastian Inlet State Park for the walk.

Fees: 

Turtle Walks are $10 per person. All individuals, including children, are required to pre-register online to reserve their spot. Children must be 7 years or older to attend the walks and all participants must be able to walk up to three miles. Minors under the age of 18 must attend with an adult. Turtle Walks are limited to 20 guests per night and dates fill up quickly. Reservations are required for turtle walks. All of Sebastian Inlet State Park’s turtle walk reservations are made online. Beginning May 1st, online turtle walk reservations can be made here: Sea Turtle Walk Reservations.

Event Time: 

Repeats every week every Sunday and every Monday and every Tuesday and every Friday and every Saturday until Mon Jul 31 2017 except Tue Jul 04 2017.
Friday, June 2, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Saturday, June 3, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Saturday, June 3, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Sunday, June 4, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Sunday, June 4, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Monday, June 5, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Monday, June 5, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Tuesday, June 6, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Tuesday, June 6, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Wednesday, June 7, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Friday, June 9, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Saturday, June 10, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Saturday, June 10, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Sunday, June 11, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Sunday, June 11, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Monday, June 12, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Monday, June 12, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Tuesday, June 13, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Tuesday, June 13, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Wednesday, June 14, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Friday, June 16, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Saturday, June 17, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Saturday, June 17, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Sunday, June 18, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Sunday, June 18, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Monday, June 19, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Monday, June 19, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Tuesday, June 20, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Tuesday, June 20, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Wednesday, June 21, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Friday, June 23, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Saturday, June 24, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Saturday, June 24, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Sunday, June 25, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Sunday, June 25, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Monday, June 26, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Monday, June 26, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Tuesday, June 27, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Tuesday, June 27, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Wednesday, June 28, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Friday, June 30, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Saturday, July 1, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Saturday, July 1, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Sunday, July 2, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Sunday, July 2, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Monday, July 3, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Monday, July 3, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Tuesday, July 4, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Friday, July 7, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Saturday, July 8, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Saturday, July 8, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Sunday, July 9, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Sunday, July 9, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Monday, July 10, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Monday, July 10, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Tuesday, July 11, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Tuesday, July 11, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Wednesday, July 12, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Friday, July 14, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Saturday, July 15, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Saturday, July 15, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Sunday, July 16, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Sunday, July 16, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Monday, July 17, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Monday, July 17, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Tuesday, July 18, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Tuesday, July 18, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Wednesday, July 19, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Friday, July 21, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Saturday, July 22, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Saturday, July 22, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Sunday, July 23, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Sunday, July 23, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Monday, July 24, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Monday, July 24, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Tuesday, July 25, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Tuesday, July 25, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Wednesday, July 26, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Friday, July 28, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Monday, July 31, 2017 - 1:00am EDT
Monday, July 31, 2017 - 9:00pm EDT to Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 1:00am EDT

Contact Info: 

Sebastian Inlet Ranger Station, (321) 984-4852

Additional Information: 

Frequently Asked Questions:

What is a turtle walk? The turtle walks at Sebastian Inlet State Park are a memorable experience that allow our guests to learn about, observe, and hopefully see the nesting and egg-laying process of a loggerhead sea turtle.

Directions to meeting location: The Sebastian Fishing Museum is located on the south side of the Sebastian Inlet Bridge. Enter Sebastian Inlet State Park’s “south side.” The Sebastian Fishing Museum is connected to the south ranger station. The Sebastian Fishing Museum is seven miles north of County Road 510 and 18 miles south of State Road 192. The address is 14257 North AlA, Vero Beach, FL, 32963.

Do I have to pay to enter the park? No, if you arrive after 8:00 PM, tell the toll collector that you are here for the sea turtle walk and they will allow free entry.

What time should I arrive? The Sebastian Inlet Fishing Museum will be open at 8pm and the program begins at 9pm.

What should I bring? You will want to wear comfortable walking shoes or sneakers. Definitely bring insect repellent. You may want to consider wearing long pants and sleeves, if you are not tolerant of mosquitoes and no-see-ums. You may want to bring water, for this up to 3 mile turtle walk. Dark clothing is preferred to minimize the impact on nesting sea turtles.

How long might I walk on the beach during the turtle walk? The walk may last up to 3 miles while we look for a nesting loggerhead sea turtle. That is 1 ½ miles each direction. Everyone must be in fair physical condition. Our beach is an isolated area, so once you start on the turtle walk you are basically committed.

What happens if we do not see a sea turtle? We generally see turtles on 75% of our turtle walks. We cannot guarantee that a sea turtle will crawl out of the ocean on the evening of your scheduled program. We do not offer refunds for any reason but all ticket sales directly benefit the Friends of Sebastian Inlet State Park, our sea turtles, and our mission.

What if it’s raining? In the summertime, Sebastian Inlet and the rest of Florida have afternoon/evening rains almost daily. The afternoon storms often clear up by 9pm. We will not go on the beach if there is lightning or heavy rain. We have only cancelled a handful of times in the last 37 years, but we will not make that decision until that evening. You can get an update by calling 772-388-2750. We will go on the beach if there is only a light rain with no lightning. Sea turtles will nest in the rain, so you may want to bring raingear but no umbrellas please. Don’t let cloudy skies and a little rain scare you off, especially our typical 4 to 8 PM thunderstorms that occur all summer long here.

How does the program work? The program begins with a sea turtle PowerPoint presentation at 9:00 PM, please arrive early. Scouts will go out on the beach to locate a turtle during the PowerPoint presentation. If the scouts find a turtle everyone will go directly to the turtle’s location when the presentation is complete. If not, around 10:00 PM, the whole group of 20 people will drive their personal vehicles to the beach. We may walk up to 3 miles looking for a nesting loggerhead sea turtle. You will need your own transportation.

How long is the program? The program is officially scheduled from 9pm to 1am. The exact duration of the program from night to night varies depending on when and if we see a sea turtle and the speed the group walks down the beach.

Can I buy sea turtle items? Yes, The Nautical Nook Gift Shop in the Sebastian Fishing Museum will be open and it has many sea turtle gifts.

Can I bring a flashlight? Yes, but it can only be used on the trail leading to the beach. Flashlights cannot be used on the beach.

Can I take pictures? We allow photography but no flash photography or any that utilizes a lighted LCD screen such as cell phones or digital cameras. Video cameras without lights produce good results especially if they have infrared “nightshot” ability.

 What is the best time to see a nesting loggerhead sea turtle? Our turtle walks are scheduled in June and July which is during the height of loggerhead nesting in Florida. There is no relationship between sea turtle nesting activity and the phase of the moon, the weather, or the tides. All scheduled Turtle Walk nights have the same odds of the group seeing a sea turtle nesting. Please follow this link Florida’s public sea turtle walks for statewide information.

The turtle walk educational programs are conducted under a state permit and should not be attempted without a state permitted guide.

Participation Requirements