Pack Walk - Main Entrance

Some content on this website is saved in an alternative format. To view these files, download the following free software or you can skip to the main content if you already have the appropriate readers.

  • Use Adobe Acrobat to read Portable Document Format (PDF) files: Download Adobe® Reader®
  • Microsoft Word file viewer and converter programs to enable those who do not have MS- Word or have another version of MS-Word to open and view MS-Word files: Download Word file Viewer
  • Microsoft offers Microsoft Excel file viewer and converter programs to enable those who do not have MS-Excel or have another version of MS-Excel to view MS-Excel files:Download Excel file viewer

Silver Springs State Park

In partnership with the Marion County Animal Services, Silver Springs State Park presents an opportunity to make a difference in the life of a shelter dog. Every 4th Sunday, join volunteers and park staff as we walk a pack of well-behaved dogs through the park's gardens and trails. This program gives the animals exercise as well as a chance to socialize with other dogs and other people. All of the dogs are available for long-term adoption but you can also "adopt" a dog for the morning and take it for a walk with the group. For only a small amount of time you can make a huge difference in the life of a shelter animal. Hikers and walkers are welcome to join the group even if they do not want to hold a leash. Please note, only visitors 16 years or older may walk a shelter dog.

Fees: 

Free with regular park admission.

Event Time: 

Repeats every month on the fourth Sunday until Sat Jun 30 2018 except Sun Jun 25 2017, Sun Jul 23 2017, Sun Dec 24 2017. Also includes Sun Dec 17 2017.
Sunday, April 23, 2017 - 10:00am EDT
Sunday, May 28, 2017 - 10:00am EDT
Sunday, August 27, 2017 - 10:00am EDT
Sunday, September 24, 2017 - 10:00am EDT
Sunday, October 22, 2017 - 10:00am EDT
Sunday, November 26, 2017 - 10:00am EST
Sunday, December 17, 2017 - 10:00am EST
Sunday, January 28, 2018 - 10:00am EST
Sunday, February 25, 2018 - 10:00am EST
Sunday, March 25, 2018 - 10:00am EDT
Sunday, April 22, 2018 - 10:00am EDT
Sunday, May 27, 2018 - 10:00am EDT
Sunday, June 24, 2018 - 10:00am EDT

Contact Info: 

Ranger Station, 352-236-7148 ext. 4

Additional Information: 

Enter the park through the main entrance located at 5656 East Silver Springs Boulevard (State Road 40).

For more information about Marion County Animal Services please visit their website or facebook page.

Park staff and volunteers with "their" dogs (photo).

Participation requirements.