Geocaching Around Topsail

Some content on this website is saved in an alternative format. To view these files, download the following free software or you can skip to the main content if you already have the appropriate readers.

  • Use Adobe Acrobat to read Portable Document Format (PDF) files: Download Adobe® Reader®
  • Microsoft Word file viewer and converter programs to enable those who do not have MS- Word or have another version of MS-Word to open and view MS-Word files: Download Word file Viewer
  • Microsoft offers Microsoft Excel file viewer and converter programs to enable those who do not have MS-Excel or have another version of MS-Excel to view MS-Excel files:Download Excel file viewer

Topsail Hill Preserve State Park

Topsail Hill State Park invites you to enjoy our “one of a kind” geocache program.  Visitors can check in at the Camp Store and pick up the geocache packet.  This activity will take you to various points throughout the Preserve.  Note: the hiking and biking trails are easy to moderate in difficulty, some are paved, sand and gravel, or hard pack.

What is Geocaching you ask?  Well, it is an outdoor recreational activity, in which participants use a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver or mobile device and other navigational techniques to hide and seek containers, called "geocaches" or "caches", at specific locations marked by coordinates all over the world. Geocaching was originally similar to the 160-year-old game letterboxing, which uses clues and references to landmarks embedded in stories.  Geocachers are free to take a treasure, or “swag” (except the logbook, pencil, or stamp) from the cache in exchange for leaving something of similar or higher value behind.

Enter the park through the main gate and park staff will direct you to the Camp Store, you will need a GPS or a smart phone capable with GPS. 

Fees: 

 Standard state park entry fees will apply however there are no additional fees for programming.

Event Time: 

Repeats every week every Wednesday until Thu Nov 16 2017.
Wednesday, November 9, 2016 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, November 16, 2016 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, November 23, 2016 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, November 30, 2016 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, December 7, 2016 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, December 14, 2016 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, December 21, 2016 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, December 28, 2016 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, January 4, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, January 11, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, January 18, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, January 25, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, February 1, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, February 8, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, February 15, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, February 22, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, March 1, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, March 15, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, March 22, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, March 29, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, April 5, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, April 12, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, April 19, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, April 26, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, May 3, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, May 10, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, May 17, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, May 24, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, May 31, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, June 7, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, June 14, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, June 21, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, June 28, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, July 5, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, July 12, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, July 19, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, July 26, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, August 2, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, August 9, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, August 16, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, September 13, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, September 20, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, October 11, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, October 18, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, October 25, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, November 1, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CDT
Wednesday, November 8, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST
Wednesday, November 15, 2017 - 9:00am to 2:00pm CST

Contact Info: 

Ranger Station 850-267-8330

Additional Information: