Florida Tales Story Hour

Some content on this website is saved in an alternative format. To view these files, download the following free software or you can skip to the main content if you already have the appropriate readers.

  • Use Adobe Acrobat to read Portable Document Format (PDF) files: Download Adobe® Reader®
  • Microsoft Word file viewer and converter programs to enable those who do not have MS- Word or have another version of MS-Word to open and view MS-Word files: Download Word file Viewer
  • Microsoft offers Microsoft Excel file viewer and converter programs to enable those who do not have MS-Excel or have another version of MS-Excel to view MS-Excel files:Download Excel file viewer

Myakka River State Park

Some of our Florida tales contain historical fiction, and some are merely legend, but all are great fun! Join us for an hour of entertainment sure to amuse and enlighten people of all ages. Our volunteers and staff will be on hand to share their favorite Cracker folklore and Florida history tidbits, vital to understanding The Real Florida!  Refreshments and snacks are provided by the Friends of Myakka River and donations are greatly appreciated. 

Story hour is generally hosted at the rustic Log Pavilion located just north of the ranger station along the park drive.

Fees: 

There are no fees for this program.

Event Time: 

Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Apr 04 2018.
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm EST
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm EST
Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm EST
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm EST
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm EST
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm EST
Wednesday, March 7, 2018 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm EST
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm EDT
Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm EDT
Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm EDT
Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm EDT

Contact Info: 

Park Ranger Station (941) 361-6511

Additional Information: 

Story hour will be relocated to the campfire circle while the Log Pavilion is closed for repairs on the following dates: 1/24/18, 1/31/18/, 2/7/18, & 2/14/18.