Fakahatchee Swamp Walk

Some content on this website is saved in an alternative format. To view these files, download the following free software or you can skip to the main content if you already have the appropriate readers.

  • Use Adobe Acrobat to read Portable Document Format (PDF) files: Download Adobe® Reader®
  • Microsoft Word file viewer and converter programs to enable those who do not have MS- Word or have another version of MS-Word to open and view MS-Word files: Download Word file Viewer
  • Microsoft offers Microsoft Excel file viewer and converter programs to enable those who do not have MS-Excel or have another version of MS-Excel to view MS-Excel files:Download Excel file viewer

Fakahatchee Strand Preserve State Park

Many people say the only way to experience the beauty and diversity of the Fakahatchee Strand is to immerse yourself in it. For many visitors, an official Friends of Fakahatchee Swamp Walk is the highlight of their Florida visit. Accompanied by experienced guides, participants wade in cool water up to their waists for half a day observing the native wildlife and plants in the Fakahatchee Strand. This is a long, strenuous walk into the heart of the Fakahatchee. Participants will be required to sign a standard release of liabilty form. Saturday swamp walks on Nov. 19, Dec. 10, Jan. 14. Feb. 11, Feb. 20, March 11, and April 8 will be led by Park Biologist Mike Owen. All other swamp walks will be led by trained Friends of Fakahatchee naturalists. Participants meet at the Ranger Station off Janes’ Scenic Drive no later than 9:30 a.m. It is located at 137 Coastline Drive, Copeland, FL. The park entrance is on the west side of SR 29 between I-75 and U.S. 41. This is the only access to Janes Scenic Drive. Please DO NOT rely on GPS or Google Map info which may incorrectly show other routes.

Fees: 

The Fakahatchee Swamp Walk is $80 per adult; tickets for teens age 12 - 18 are $60. Advance reservations are required. Registration and More Information

Event Time: 

Repeats every week every Saturday until Sat Apr 08 2017 except Sat Nov 26 2016, Sat Dec 17 2016, Sat Dec 24 2016, Sat Dec 31 2016, Sat Jan 21 2017, Sat Jan 28 2017, Sat Feb 25 2017, Sat Mar 18 2017, Sat Apr 01 2017.
Saturday, November 19, 2016 - 9:30am to 2:30pm EST
Saturday, December 3, 2016 - 9:30am to 2:30pm EST
Saturday, December 10, 2016 - 9:30am to 2:30pm EST
Saturday, January 7, 2017 - 9:30am to 2:30pm EST
Saturday, January 14, 2017 - 9:30am to 2:30pm EST
Saturday, February 4, 2017 - 9:30am to 2:30pm EST
Saturday, February 11, 2017 - 9:30am to 2:30pm EST
Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 9:30am to 2:30pm EST
Saturday, March 4, 2017 - 9:30am to 2:30pm EST
Saturday, March 11, 2017 - 9:30am to 2:30pm EST
Saturday, March 25, 2017 - 9:30am to 2:30pm EDT
Saturday, April 8, 2017 - 9:30am to 2:30pm EDT

Additional Information: 

Swamp walkers should wear long pants and lace-up boots or sneakers (no waders or open-top boots). A hat and long-sleeved shirt are also recommended. Bring water, snacks, or lunch. Bring bug repellent if you are sensitive. Put anything you do not want to get wet in zip-lock plastic bags. You will also want to have a change of clothes to leave in your car for a more comfortable trip home. The park entrance is on the west side of SR 29 between I-75 and U.S. 41. This is the only access to Janes Scenic Drive. Please DO NOT rely on GPS or Google Map info which may incorrectly show other routes.