Native Americans were the first humans to hunt and fish these barrier islands. In 1562, the French Huguenots arrived and named them the `Timucua'. Over the next 200 years, the French, English and Spanish lived here. In 1735, General James Oglethorpe named the Talbot Islands in honor of Charles Baron Talbot, Lord High Chancellor of England. In 1845, Florida became the 27th state.
This article from a 1951 edition of the Jacksonville Journal announces the deed transfer of Little Talbot Island to the Board of Parks and Historic Memorials. More than 50 years later, the legacy of preservation continues making the natural wonders of this barrier island available to all who visit.
Barrier islands like Little Talbot are constantly changing. The dunes, especially, are subject to erosion. The planting of sea oats, installation of fencing and use of boardwalks for pedestrian traffic help protect this natural resource.
Few coastal locations in Florida remain undisturbed, but Little Talbot Island is an exception. Here there are miles of untouched natural wilderness and waters to explore and enjoy.
Recreational opportunities abound at Little Talbot. Along with many other fun activities, visitors can relax on the beach, indulge in an afternoon of fishing or enjoy a paddle along Myrtle Creek.
An abundance of ranger-led interpretive programming at Little Talbot allows visitors to learn more about the many natural habitats and species found here. Birders, beginning and experienced alike, can enjoy the special birding programs, including the annual Bunting by Bike. Take a pleasant bike ride around the island and learn more about this colorful resident.